RSS Feed

Strawberry Crumble Muffins

Posted on

Strawberry Crumble Muffins

I recently got some strawberries in my CSA, and because I favor raspberries more for eating, I decided to use them for baking, and more specifically, for a batch of muffins to accompany a visit to a friend’s cottage.  I used a variation of my recipe for Partridgeberry Crumble Muffins for these, and they ended up very tasty, with a lovely crunchy topping.  Next time I might also mix in a little rhubarb too.

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp mace
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup softened coconut oil (or substitute any vegetable oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups hulled, chopped strawberries.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a muffin pan by greasing, or as I did, using parchment muffin liners.

Combine dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, eggs, vanilla and milk.  Mix in dry ingredients, then stir in strawberries.  Spoon batter into liners (I fill them level as I like large muffins)

Make crumb topping by combining:

  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 6 tbsp white sugar
  • 3 tbsp butter, cubed

Stir together flour and sugar, and using a pastry blender, cut in butter until crumbs form.  Sprinkle over top of filled muffin cups.

Place pan in oven and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean. Baking time will depend on how large you make the muffins.  Making larger muffins, I got 10 from the recipe, and baked them for around 33 minutes.

Strawberry Crumble Muffins2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

