RSS Feed

Fig and Anise Toffee

fig20and20anise20toffee_zpsxkgozyuc

Years ago when I was still living in Newfoundland and increasing my interest in all things cooking and baking, one of my friends and taste-testers came over for dinner and along with that dinner I made a loaf of fig and fennel bread out of some Martha Stewart mag.  I thought I was so fancy, lol. I don’t think she was overly fond of it and it was probably like a door-stopper, what with my bread-baking luck.  Thankfully we are still good friends.  That little dinner for some reason popped into my head as I was thinking up a new holiday toffee recipe, so this one goes out to that good friend.

 

  • 1 1/4 cups butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp white corn syrup
  • 200 grams dried figs, chopped in small pieces (I use a kitchen shears)
  • 2 tbsp anise seeds
  • 1 pound pure semi-sweet chocolate chips

Prepare a baking sheet with butter.  To a heavy saucepan over low-medium heat, melt butter, then add both sugars, water and corn syrup.  Increase heat to medium and cook for 15-20 minutes to “hard crack stage” while regularly stirring and scraping bottom of pan.  Remove pan from heat and stir in the chopped figs and anise seeds.  Pour mixture onto prepared baking sheet and press with back of metal spoon to distribute thinly.  Distribute chocolate chips over top of warm toffee and allow to sit until they start to soften, then smooth fully over top of the toffee with the back of a spoon.  Allow to fully cool until chocolate is set, then break into pieces.  Store in a cool area in a covered container.

2 responses »

  1. This looks DELICIOUS!! I’ll have to try making it 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

