RSS Feed

Seitan Black Pudding

Posted on

Black Pudding 2

If you are vegan, vegetarian, or just like to have meatless Mondays or what not, seitan is a great way to add protein to your diet.  I discovered I could make my own about 5 years ago, and wondered why I ever paid for veggie burgers or luncheon “meats”.  If you can make a banana bread, you can make seitan.  It is SO easy, and ingredients are easy to find.  There are loads of fantastic recipes out there for just about everything.  And I’ve never had one that I couldn’t slice up and freeze to use later.  So versatile.

Growing up in Newfoundland, black or blood puddings were a regular dish, and I admit that I loved them back in my meat – eating days.   I have been wanting to make my own vegetarian version for some time now, one that also included protein, instead of a simple vegetable swap for the blood and fat that normally go in these sausages.  Seitan to the rescue!  This recipe turned out great, and while it won’t taste exactly like a traditional blood pudding, it is pretty close to the real thing, and a tasty addition to any breakfast plate.

  • 6 ounces cooked black lentils (or if you wish, black beans)
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1 cup beet juice (I used Biotta but if you have a juicer you can make your own)
  • 1-2 “beef” bouillon cubes (depending on your salt preference)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 2 tbsp soya sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup ground oats (just give them a few pulses in a blender or food processor)
  • 2 tsp allspice
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp thyme

Use a blender to combine lentils, wine, beet juice, bouillon, shortening, soya sauce and garlic.  In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients and spices, then stir in chopped onion.  Add liquids to this mixture, stir to combine, then knead for a few minutes until the mixture forms a doughy ball with stretchy texture (I use the dough hook on my kitchenaid to make short work of this).

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Place dough on foil and form into a long loaf.  Wrap into a tube (not too tight or the foil may burst).  Place on baking sheet and cook for one hour.

While the pudding can be eaten as is at this point, it is best served as you would normally serve a black pudding, that is, fried.  I added an olive oil / butter combo to a cast iron pan and gave them a couple of minutes on each side at medium heat.  I got about 12 half-inch slices from this batch.

Black Pudding

6 responses »

  1. Do you have a go-to seitan recipe? I wanna give it a try!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Vegan Queso Dip | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

