RSS Feed

Greek Brunch Bake

IMG_0397_zps83769b0f

This recipe, much like my Tunisian Squash Casserole last year, was borne from the need to use up my CSA vegetables in a way that gives me a few tasty, convenient, and individual meals for the freezer.  I get a half share of vegetables from Wysmykal Farm every week, and even as one person who loves her veggies, I sometimes have a hard time making my way through it all before the next pick up.  I hate waste but thankfully love to cook on the weekends, so I often make big pots of catch-all soups, roast and freeze the root vegetables and squash, and make stuff like this. I love being able to pull a slice of this out of the freezer on mornings when I’m in a rush (which is most mornings, because let me tell you, I am NOT a morning person) and it gives me a nice portion of protein and vegetables to start my day .  It also makes for a nice lunch or dinner with a little salad or soup. 

Of course, as a large recipe, this dish is also perfect for when you have a crowd for brunch. You can always cook up your vegetables ahead of time and whisk it all together the day of.

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 large clove (or two small) garlic, minced
  • 1 large green pepper, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 -1/2 tsp salt ( depending on your tastes, and if you decide to use kalamata or regular canned olives)
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1 cup packed, cooked spinach, chopped (I cooked mine from two fresh bags of spinach), drained from any liquid
  • 12 large eggs
  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (I used Holmestead)
  • 1 cup sliced black olives

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a rectangular baking pan and set aside.

Over medium heat, cook onion, garlic, green pepper and herbs with olive oil until vegetables are softened.  Remove from heat. Season with a few grinds of fresh pepper and salt to taste. Stir in tomatoes and chopped spinach.

In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, chickpea flour and milk.  I like to give it a few mixes with the stick blender to do away with any lumps.  Stir in feta cheese and olives. Stir in vegetables, then pour into prepared pan.

Bake for 30-40 minutes. Baking time will depend on the depth of your pan.  Mine was larger, and resulted in a thinner slice, so was baked around the 30 minute mark.  I got 9 slices from this dish.

IMG_3424_zps9a56a0c6

One response »

  1. Pingback: Shakshuka Breakfast Bake | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

