RSS Feed

White Chocolate Ginger Cheesecake with Brandy Whipped Cream and Ginger Brandy Snaps

WhiteChocolateGingerCheesecake_zps6afe4c40

Despite stating that I was absolutely NOT turning on my oven again until the new year, I was jokingly volun-told to make what has now become my yearly cheesecake offering for my sister’s New Year’s Eve party (technically I did not break my oath, as this cake was baked in my mother’s oven).  Last year I did my Chocolate Cheesecake with Poached Pears, and in previous years have made Bon Appetit’s Candied Fig, Hazelnut and Orange Cheesecake with Port Sauce (with tweaks of candied orange slices and some whipped cream), as well as a Lemon White Chocolate Cheesecake amongst others.

The past couple of years I’ve leaned more towards my own recipes, so I wanted to come up with something a little different.  My sister loves candied ginger, so this cake was the result.  As an alternate suggestion for the brandy snaps, you could also go with pieces of my White Chocolate Ginger Crunch for finishing. 

  • 300 gram package of ginger snaps (I used Purity), pulsed to fine crumbs
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp butter, melted
  • 4 8 ounce packages of cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 4 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 225 gram package of white chocolate, melted
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups whipping cream
  • 2 tsp brandy
  • 1 1/2 tbsp powdered sugar
  • whipped cream stabilizer (optional)
  • 1/4/ to 1/2 recipe of ginger brandy snaps (such as these, which I made large by flattening before baking, and cut into quarters while warm)

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.  Prepare a large springform pan (I used one that was 11-12 inches in width), by lining bottom with parchment and greasing sides.  I also wrap the pan in a couple of layers of tinfoil to reduce butter leakage.

Mix together ginger snap crumbs, melted butter and brown sugar until mixture can be pressed and held together somewhat.  Press along bottom and up sides of prepared springform. Set aside.

In your stand mixer, blend cream cheese and white sugar until fluffy and creamy. Add minced ginger and vanilla extract, mix and scrape down sides of bowl.  Slowly add melted white chocolate to mixture a spoonful or so at a time, and mix until blended.  Add 1/4 cup whipping cream and mix again.  Add eggs, one at a time, scraping bowl once or twice, and taking care not to over beat eggs. Pour mixture into prepared crust.  Bake for 50-60 minutes until top is set and cheesecake no longer jiggles.  Allow to cool with oven door ajar, then remove to cool completely in refrigerator.

When ready to set up, remove cake from pan by running a knife around the inner edge, releasing spring and lifting from bottom of pan with a cake spatula, removing parchment in process.  Whip the 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream along with powdered sugar and brandy, as well as stabilizer if you plan to get the cake ready ahead of time.  Place whipped cream in a large icing bag or ziploc bag with a corner cut off and pipe large dollops around edge of cake.  Finish with pieces of ginger brandy snaps or white chocolate ginger bark.

Made in a larger pan, this cake should easily serve 12-14.  Happy New Year everyone !

Leave a Reply

