RSS Feed

Pumpkin (or Squash) Coffee Chip Nut Bread with Streusel Topping

The last time I was home in Newfoundland I dug through my Mom’s old cookbooks and she gave me a couple from a Better Homes and Gardens series; a cookie cookbook that I have bookmarked in numerous places for Christmas cookies, as well as this one:

There are SO many good little recipes in here and I hope to make several of them, or get inspiration from, as I did with this recipe.  A couple of weeks ago I was in the grocery store and spied Hershey Coffee Chipits, and of course I had to buy, because I’m like a crow with something shiny when I see stuff like that.

And because this time of year I have an abundance of squash and pumpkin from my CSA, they made their way into this quickbread.  The recipe I used for guidance is the pumpkin nut bread in the above book, which I tweaked by using butternut squash, omitting the raisins, subbing the coffee chocolate chips and topping with streusel.  Here’s the result:

Pumpkin Coffee Loaf

This was quick to whip up and smelled AMAZING while it was baking. Yum !  Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin or squash puree
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup coffee chocolate chipits
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and butter the sides of a loaf pan. In a mixing bowl (or as I do it, in a ziploc bag), combine flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda and spices.  In your mixer, cream together first quantity of brown sugar and shortening, then beat in eggs one at a time.  Add squash or pumpkin and then milk, mix all until incorporated.  Add flour mixture, scrape sides of bowl and mix until batter is blended.  Stir in walnuts and coffee chipits.  Pour into prepared loaf pan.

Combine second quantity of brown sugar, flour, softened butter and cinnamon until crumbly.  Sprinkle over top of loaf.  Place in oven and bake for 55-60 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.  Allow to cook slightly before turning out of pan. Cut and enjoy !

Leave a Reply

