RSS Feed

Jellybean Squares aka “when good squares go bad”

Posted on

EXHIBIT A: Failsquares

IMG_5035

What a mess.  I guess every so often the universe needs to remind you that you’re really NOT all that and a bag of chips in the kitchen.

Jelly beans and stuff like Mike and Ike candies are my favorite.  As in I can’t bring them home often favorite, because I would eat a whole bag.  But seeing as how it is Easter weekend, I decided to whip these up.

These TASTED really good , but the way I made them, they did not execute well at all.  As you can see from the photo, they separated when I tried to cut them due to a barrier of too hard jellybeans.   Next time I will use fewer, smaller jellybeans and mix them IN with the chocolate on top, instead of as a middle.  I don’t know what I was thinking. Live and learn !

Anyway, I will share the recipe even though it’s none too pretty, because as I said, these actually tasted really good, and are worth tweaking later.

Start by preheating the oven to 325 degrees.  Prepare a 9×9 inch square pan by greasing bottom and sides with butter (you can also line the pan with foil first, but today I used a non-stick).

For the bottom layer:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour

Cream butter and sugar today, then add salt and vanilla.  Lastly, mix in flour.  Press this mixture into your prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.  Remove from oven.

While bottom layer is baking, in either a double boiler or the microwave, combine:

  • 2 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsps butter

Melt until creamy and incorporated.  And while this is not what I did (I poured the chocolate over a layer of jellybeans), mix about 3/4 cup of small jellybeans in with the chocolate and smooth on top (I had also originally used about 1 1/4 cups of jellybeans).

Happy Easter everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

