RSS Feed

Maple Walnut Cookies

Posted on

IMG_2543

The sugar woods around here are in full swing now, and there is an abundance of maple products available right now in all the stores, and of course if you visit the sugar camps themselves and see how all these delicious maple products are made (which I highly recommend, as its a lot of fun).  Check out the Maple Producers Association of NS for info and events ! 

Yesterday I picked up a block of maple cream and about 8 of those maple candy (also made from the cream), seen above.  The cream is a lot softer than the candy often found, although this depends on how new it is.  I wanted a drier candy, to chop into chunks.  Because cookies, of course !

IMG_2105

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup maple cream chunks (8 maple leaf candy yielded approx 1 cup which I then put in the freezer for a while to hold their shape)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • maple sugar (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together first three dry ingredients.  Cream together butter and sugars, then add vanilla and eggs, one at a time.  Add dry ingredients and mix to blend.  Stir in walnuts and then maple cream chunks.

Drop spoonfuls of the cookie dough onto a parchment lined cookie sheet, press slightly and if using, sprinkle with a little maple sugar.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden.  Yields about 33 large cookies.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Leigh-Ann! I’m Eats Meets West, a fellow RWoP member, and I happened to find out that you have a blog! It looks amazing by the way 🙂 ! . Anyways, I can’t believe I haven’t thought of making maple cookies before. They look quite scrumptious 😀

    One question though: if I don’t have said ‘maple cream’ on hand, do you think I could use maple sugar or even maple syrup, while substituting it for the sugar or liquids in the recipe?

    Thanks,
    ~ EMW

    Reply
    • Thank you again for your kind comments ! I thought about using maple sugar in place of my brown sugar here, so I would imagine that would work well in this cookie. The maple cream partially melted into the cookies anyway. There are recipes on the net for making your own maple cream from maple syrup if you feel up to a challenge 🙂

      Reply
      • No problem Leigh-Ann 🙂 . I love getting to know other food bloggers out there! Doesn’t make me feel so lonely in said blogosphere 😀

        Thanks for the tips. I don’t have any maple cream but I have tons of maple syrup hanging out in my fridge, so I’d love to put it to use before all the cold weather goes away 😀 Hmm, perhaps one day I will feel brave enough to use a candy thermometer 😛 . For now, maple sugar it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

