RSS Feed

Irish “Barm Brack” Cheesecake with Whisky Sauce & original Barm Brack recipe

Posted on

Image

In anticipation of St. Patrick’s Day this weekend, I thought I’d share a couple of sweet treats that I’ve made in the past.  This particular cake was entered into a contest last fall (recipe can be found here), and was a take on the traditional tea loaf that I’ve made in the past and whose recipe I will also share.  The cheesecake went over really well with my testers / co-workers and I was pretty pleased with it.  Alas, it did not win the contest.  

Here is my recipe for Barm Brack, written into my own little cookbook several years ago, so I have no idea where it even came from originally:

  • 1 cup cold tea
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup mixed peel
  • 1/2 cup currants
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

-in a large bowl, add tea to raisins, peel, currants and sugar.  Cover and let stand overnight.
-next day, beat egg until frothy.  Stir this into fruit mixture.  Melt butter and stir into fruit.
-combine dry ingredients and add to fruit batter, stirring until blended. Spoon this mixture into greased loaf pan and bake in 350 degree oven for 60-70 minutes.

Cut and enjoy plain or with a little butter.  Yum !

I love both versions 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb Crisp Cheesecake | Sugar n' Stuff

  2. Pingback: Barm Brack Fudge | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

