RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Banana Bundt Cake

Image

I like big bundts and I can not lie !!!

(yeah I’m sure I’m not the first one to use that line, I don’t care ! )

I haven’t baked in a while, and have been meaning to make a bundt for a while, as I rarely use that pan – a stoneware beauty that I love, but always hold my breath when I use it for fear of leaving half of any cake stuck on.  With some bananas needing to be used up and just a general love for the flavours of PB & Banana, this cake was the result. 

I followed a base along the lines of a cake from the Sobeys “Inspired” magazine here, but with a few tweaks and additions, and therefore here is my recipe:

  • 2 cups mashed bananas
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups golden cane sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups milk with addition of 1/2 tsp vinegar (to sour)
  • approx 1/2 300g bag peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease and flour bundt pan (use a large one, this is a big recipe).  Mix together banana and lemon juice, set aside.  Add your vinegar to milk and also set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, set aside.  In a stand mixer mix together oil and cane sugar.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, then add vanilla.  Blend in flour mixture and milk mixture in two additions.  Mix in bananas and then half the bag of peanut butter chips until mixed.

Pour mixture into prepared bundt pan and place in oven.  Bake cake for about an hour and ten minutes, or until tester comes out clean. *note* the original recipe stated 55 minutes, my cake was no where near done at that time, either because of my oven, or the stoneware pan I used.

Allow cake to cool for about a half hour then turn out onto cooling rack all the while holding your breath (oh wait, that’s just me). Is there a patron saint of baking?

Anyway, allow that cake to cool for at least another hour before glazing it.  I used the following peanut butter glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 -1/3 cup milk, depending on how thick or thin you like your glaze.

I was really pleased with how this turned out.  I guess I really DO like big bundts.

Happy Sunday everyone !  Back to work for most tomorrow, am hoping this cake will make the return a little sweeter.  🙂

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hazelnut Banana Bundt Cake | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

