RSS Feed

Christmas Candy Roundup !

christmas candy

On the left tray:

Gingerbread Fudge (top)

White Christmas (bottom), adapted from

Right tray, from top to bottom:

Cinnamon Peanut Brittle, adapted from

Hazelnut Biscotti Toffee

Chocolate Mint Coconut Crunch, lightly adapted from

White Chocolate Cranberry Pistachio Bark

I am officially done with my baking and candy making for the year and ready to give most of it away before traveling in the next few days with the remainder, as I’ve made enough to feed a ship’s crew.  A few of these I’ve made in the past, and really the biscotti toffee is my only “new to 2012” recipe.  I admit to having to make two batches of the gingerbread fudge, having overcooked the first (I found relying more on the “soft ball” method than the candy thermometer for this one resulted in success)

The White Christmas candy in particular took the most tweaking, as a few of the ingredients (like the Copha) are not available in Canada, at least not where I live.   What I did have was Earth Balance Coconut Spread, so I decided to use that in place of the Copha, use skim milk powder in place of the full fat and christmas cake mix instead of straight red and green cherries.  Having never tasted Copha or the original White Christmas recipe for that matter, I can only imagine that the coconut spread made it slightly saltier, as it still set up fine.  FYI, the “rice bubbles” referred to in the recipe are the same as Rice Krispies cereal, as far as I know.

As for the other adaptations, I simply swapped out the cashews in favor of peanuts in the brittle, and increased the mint in the coconut crunch to 1/2 tsp.  I also used toasted coconut from Milanaise.

Leave a Reply

