RSS Feed

Hazelnut Biscotti Toffee

AKA Toffee remix part 3 (check out my Peanut Butter Banana and my Thai Coconut toffees for more variety!)

I’m in the midst of pre-Christmas cookie and candy making, and besides the frozen doughs and stuff that needs to age, candy is something that I can make a little ahead of time.  I’ve already made brittle, and a failed recipe of fudge (that I will conquer!), and next up was toffee.

After already finding that I could use other mix-ins and spices in my basic toffee recipe, I decided on hazelnuts, and from there came the idea to mix in bits of biscotti.  I still had both left from a cake I made recently, so I didn’t even have to go to the store.  Score !

This recipe calls for skinned, toasted hazelnuts, and I find the best way to get them to that state without losing your sanity is the baking soda method.  I needed one cup for this recipe, so I simply brought 3 cups of water with 4 tbsps of baking soda to a boil, added the hazelnuts and allowed to boil for about 3 minutes.  After that, drain, rinse with cold water and those skins will just slip right off.  Toast them in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes and you’re ready to go.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cups butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp orange zest
  • 1 cup of toasted hazelnuts, chopped & divided (3/4 and 1/4 cup)
  • 1 cup biscotti pieces
  • 1 pound bittersweet chocolate chips

Butter a cookie sheet.  Melt butter in a heavy saucepan over low heat.  Add both sugars, water, honey, allspice and salt and stir until sugar dissolves.

Increase heat to medium and cook for 18-20 minutes while scraping bottom of pan.  Remove from heat once the candy reaches the hard crack stage.  Stir in orange zest, 3/4 cups chopped hazelnuts and biscotti pieces.  Pour mixture onto cookie sheet.

Sprinkle chocolate chips over hot toffee, let stand for about a minute, then use the back of a metal spoon to distribute melted chocolate over top of toffee.  Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts.

Allow to fully set and break into pieces.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Christmas Candy Roundup ! « Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

