RSS Feed

Squash Muffins Two Ways

The past few weeks I have been overwhelmed (in a good way!) with lots and lots of squash in my farm-share from Wysmykal Farms.  I’ve been making soups and curries for the freezer, but also wanted some baked goods.

Both of these recipes made me go “well that’s different”, which of course was my cue to make them.  Both were originally pumpkin recipes, but the squash was a great substitute.  They also both used up some fantastic local ingredients both with the cheeses I used, as well as kale and cilantro from my farm-share.

The first muffin is a sweet offering, and I followed the recipe pretty much in total, aside from substituting a cup of roasted butternut squash for the pumpkin, and shredding the cheese instead of mixing in cubes.  I used Avonlea Clothbound Cheddar, instead of the mild cheddar it called for.

The recipe, for Pumpkin, Chocolate & Cheddar Muffins, can be found here, and is shown on the right.  Using individual panettone molds, I got ten muffins from the recipe.

The second squash muffin is a fantastic savory variation, is based on this original recipe for Pumpkin Feta Muffins. As I made more changes to that recipe, I will post what I included here.  The recipe, made in individual panettone molds, resulted in eight muffins (now 7, as I ate one for lunch !)

SQUASH, KALE and CHEESE MUFFINS:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 2 cups chopped squash or pumpkin (I used delicata squash)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped kale (the variety I have is Tuscan kale)
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 3 tbsp salted hulled pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar (I used the Avonlea cheddar)
  • 125 grams chopped feta (I used half a container of Holmestead Feta)
  • 2 tsp whole grain mustard
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix chopped squash with 1 tbsp oil and spread out on a cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Remove from oven, set aside.

Mix together both flours, baking powder and sea salt.  Toss in kale, cilantro, roasted pumpkin and pumpkin seeds.

Whisk together the 2 eggs, mustard and milk.  Mix in both cheeses and 1 tbsp oil.  Add this mixture to the flour mixture and stir until incorporated.

Grease muffin cups or panettone molds, as I used.  Spoon in batter, filling molds to the top.  Place filled molds on cookie sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.  Baking time will be shorter if using muffin cups.

Leave a Reply

