RSS Feed

Pumpkin Ale Brittle

Yesterday I decided to tackle the organization of the hundreds of bookmarked recipes I have on my computer.  If there is such a thing as a recipe hoarder, I think I’m one.  Problem is, I never got around to making half of them because they got lost under the pile of unclassified bookmarks.  While now I have a lot of recipe folders on my computer, at least I know where to go to find something.

While I was going through the recipes, I unearthed a recipe for beer brittle that I’d never made.  I still have some Propeller Pumpkin Ale in the fridge so the light bulb went off and I whipped up a little batch of this today, subbing in pumpkin seeds because that’s a natural match.  This doesn’t make a whole lot, but I can see it being tasty crumbled into ice cream or just shared with a friend or two. 

The recipe:

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin ale
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbsp light corn syrup
  • sprinkle of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup shelled pumpkin seeds / pepitas

Butter a cookie sheet and set aside. In a saucepan, combine the pumpkin ale, sugar and corn syrup.  Bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce to medium.  Continue to cook the mixture at this temperature, stirring occasionally, until it reaches the hard crack stage.  You can also use a candy thermometer, but I prefer this method.  Note that the mixture will be foamy at the beginning of the boil, but this will settle down as the mixture cooks.

Once at correct stage, remove pan from heat and quickly sprinkle with salt, mix in vanilla and stir in pumpkin seeds.  Pour onto prepared pan and stretch out as much as possible.  Once cooled, crack into pieces and enjoy !

Leave a Reply

