RSS Feed

Pumpkin Ployes

For a while now, I’ve been making ployes as a stand in for regular sandwich wraps.  What the heck is a “ploye”?  Well, that answer can be better explained here, but essentially it is a buckwheat griddle cake.  And I happen to really like buckwheat in any form, so these suit me well.  I think they’re a healthier alternative to regular wraps, and are around 100 calories per.

This is the recipe I’ve been using all along, and it is really easy to whip up.  I have used them for both sweet and savory sandwiches and snacks, and coincidentally, they also freeze really well with a little parchment in between each one.

A couple of weeks ago, I received a lovely big pumpkin from Wysmykal Farm:

And a couple of days ago I cut it in half (with great difficulty) and roasted it in the oven, resulting in lots and lots of beautiful pumpkin puree.  Some was destined for the freezer, the rest I plan to use in a few recipes this weekend.  When I was trying to think of something to do with it, I thought of tweaking the recipe for Ployes to come up with a wrap with a little extra.  Here’s the result, which I was quite pleased with, and think I like even more than the original:

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour (I used Cuisine Soleil organic flour)
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1 1/4 cups boiling water, cooled slightly

Mix together your dry ingredients, then whisk in 1 cup cold water and the pumpkin puree.  The mixture will still be fairly thick at this point.  Slowly whisk in 1 1/4 cups boiling water until you get a runny batter.

Lightly spray a non-stick pan with oil (which I used) or cooking spray.  You can also make these in a well seasoned cast iron pan, but I find I have a better time freeing the ployes up with a non-stick pan.  Bring to medium heat.

To heated pan add 1/2 cup of batter per ploye (use less batter to make them smaller – I wanted wrap sized).   Tilt pan around to spread batter.  Allow to cook until the top dries and you see bubbles, like so:

Now, ployes are not supposed to be flipped, but I do flip mine, because I wanted them a little crisp on both sides.  You may want to use a flexible spatula to coax them off the bottom of the pan before flipping.  Repeat the process until you have 7-8 (I actually got 7.5 from the recipe).

One response »

  1. Pingback: Buckwheat Wraps – Two Ways ! (Savory & Chocolate Banana) | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

