RSS Feed

Apple Bangbelly with Molasses Coady

(via)

I was away from home this Thanksgiving and for the day, I wanted a dessert that wasn’t typical Thanksgiving fare, but one that reminded me of home.  And with Nova Scotia apples that are so plentiful and delicious this time of year, I decided this was the fruit I wanted to add to my bangbelly.  This recipe was adapted from one I found in my 500 Years of Nfld Cookery book.

It was delicious, and absolutely what I’d been craving.  It’s like a cross between a boiled or steamed pudding and a cake.  As my Mom would say, it’d put cockles on your heart.  I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did.

For the Bangbelly  itself:

4 muffin sized raisin rolls (or 4 slices of molasses raisin bread, but I used the rolls)

1/2 cup cold water

3/4 cup of molasses

1/2 cup butter, melted

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp salt

2 cups white flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp allspice

2 cups chopped apples (I used Cortlands from Belliveau orchards)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Tear raisin buns into small pieces and soak in water for a few minutes until water is absorbed. Squish the mixture with your hands until you have the consistency of wet dough.  In mixer add molasses, butter, vanilla and salt to wet bread mixture and blend.  Add eggs, one at a time.

Combine flour with baking soda and baking powder, cinnamon and allspice.  Add this flour mixture to the wet ingredients in mixer and combine well.  Add chopped apples and mix.

Turn mixture out into a buttered square loaf pan (mine’s about 9×9).  Bake at 325 for one hour.  Allow to fully cool in pan, then turn out and cut to desired size (the slice you see in the photo is cut in half)

For Molasses Coady:

1 cup molasses

3 tbsp butter

1 tbsp vinegar

1/4 cup of water

Combine all in a saucepan and boil over medium heat for 10 minutes.

Serve bangbelly with ice cream and drizzle molasses coady over top of all.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Rum Runner Molasses Cookies | Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

