RSS Feed

What’s Kuchen !?! Bakeapple Kasekuchen !

Ba-dum-tshhh…. I’m here all night.

Anyway, I had a jar of bakeapples (aka cloudberries) in the freezer and had gone to the Dieppe farmer’s market yesterday and picked up some quark, and this is the result. BTW, am I the only one who can’t make it out of a farmer’s market without spending a fortune?  There are so many wonderful finds at this particular market, and this time I came home with apples (the honeycrisps are out!), several bottles of olive oil, far more cheese than I really need (as if) from La Faim de Loup, olive bread from Hofer’s, dog biscuits and lunch (hello falafel sandwich).  No vegetables this time, as I’m still getting my weekly farm-share delivery from Wysmykal Farms.

Both the quark and the butter I used in this recipe came from Armadale Farms.  They also sell some mighty good cheese and yogurt by the way, along with several other dairy products.  And while you can buy bakeapples from local sellers around Newfoundland in late summer, this particular jar came from Bidgood’s supermarket during one of my trips back home.  They sell lots of local and hard to find Newfoundland favorites. 

While this cake is likely destined for my workplace, I mostly made this for myself.  I LOVE bakeapples but rarely get to have them.  They can be kind of costly for berries (expect to pay at least $10 for a mason jar full), but it’s because they can be pretty hard to find, and you’ll have to march around in the bogs to find them.  Usually these berries are reserved more for special desserts, as opposed to day to day baking with blueberries or partridgeberries.  I save them for cheesecakes typically, but this time I wanted to do a little something different.  If you can’t find bakeapples where you are, substitute a moderately tart berry of your choosing and adjust the sugar to taste.

Enough rhapsodizing about bakeapples…here’s the recipe !

I started with half the roll cookie dough from Joy of Cooking, vol. 2, which resulted in:

  • 1/2 cup white or brown sugar (I used golden cane sugar)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Cream the sugar and butter together and then add remaining ingredients one at a time.  The resulting mixture should be crumb-like, but still hold together.  Press this along bottom and about 1 inch up the sides of a 9 inch springform pan.  I used a non-stick pan, and therefore no additional greasing, but if you have a regular pan, grease it with butter and maybe a little flour.  Set pan in fridge. In the meantime, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

For the bakeapple mixture, I took approximately 2 cups frozen bakeapples and 3/4 cups white sugar into a saucepan and let it simmer away over medium heat until thickened and reduced somewhat.  Remove from heat and allow to fully cool.

When this is done, make the cheese mixture by mixing the following one ingredient at a time:

  • 1 1/4 cups quark
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 large egg

Once bakeapple mixture is cooled, add it to prepared crust and smooth.  Top this with the cheese mixture and smooth top. Bake for approximately 60 minutes, covering cake with tinfoil halfway through to keep the cookie crust from burning.

Cut and serve with cream.  I also dusted the top with confectioner’s sugar.

Leave a Reply

