RSS Feed

Thai Spiced Coconut Toffee

aka toffee experiment part II.

A couple of years ago I made a bunch of truffles for Easter, one of which was a Thai Curry truffle that was flavored with a dessert-friendly Thai curry paste.  They were lovely, and of course with ideas swirling around in my head again this week, I decided to search out the recipe once again and try my hand at incorporating the paste into other candies.  Last night, while waiting for my banana toffee to firm up, I made the paste with a few substitutions due to lack of ingredients (and a little laziness – I didn’t grind my own spices).  Here is what I came up with (click the link above to see the original recipe):

2 tbsp lemongrass paste
1 teaspoon lime zest
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cardamom
1 1/4 teaspoons turmeric
1 tsp ground coriander
3/4 tsp ground cumin
1 tbsp ginger root, minced
1 tbsp coconut milk

All I did was toss everything into my food processor and let it go until it was pureed.  The original recipe states it makes 1/2 cup, I’d say I ended up making closer to 1/4 – 1/3 cup.

On to the toffee, and once again I developed a recipe based on a tried and true toffee recipe, much the same way I did with the banana from yesterday.  I used:

  • 1 1/4 cups butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Thai dessert curry paste from ^
  • 1/4 tsp coconut extract
  • 2 cups large flake unsweetened coconut (I used Milanaise organic roasted coconut)
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 8 ounces white chocolate chips

Butter a cookie sheet.  Melt butter in heavy saucepan over low heat.  Add both sugars, water, corn syrup and salt and stir until sugars dissolve.

Increase heat to medium and cook this mixture for approximately 18-20 minutes or until the candy reaches the hard crack stage (once again, keep a glass of water with ice nearby so that you can drop a little in).  Keep stirring and scraping bottom of pan throughout.  Seriously, don’t leave the stove while you’re doing this because it can start to burn pretty quickly.  Put on some music and maybe pour yourself up a glass of wine ! You don’t want to get hypnotized by this stuff 😉

Remove pan from heat, stir in 1 tsp curry paste, coconut extract and coconut and then pour mixture onto prepared cookie sheet.  Try to stretch the soft toffee to cover as much of the pan as possible.

To top of hot toffee sprinkle bittersweet and white chocolates in alternate areas.  Allow to soften for a minute or so and with back of spoon, spread the chocolates slightly.  Using the tip of a knife, make a marble pattern with the chocolate.

Allow to set and break into pieces.  Enjoy !

 

2 responses »

  1. This looks yummy!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Hazelnut Biscotti Toffee « Sugar n' Stuff

Leave a Reply

