RSS Feed

Honey Walnut Cookies

Image

Wanting inspiration for a simple cookie, later intended for a cookie crust, I took to a cookbook I’ve had for years, 1001 Cookie Recipes, and more specifically, to a recipe for “honey chippers” (p.271 if you happen to have the book).

The original recipe calls for apricot brandy, chocolate chips and almonds, as well as a full half cup of honey.  I wanted to crisp the cookie up a little, so I used a portion of golden cane sugar.  In addition I switched out the brandy with a honey liqueur, omitted the chocolate, and upped the quantity of substituted walnuts. 

Here is the resulting recipe:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/4 cup of honey (I used a local wildflower honey as pictured)

1/4 cup golden cane sugar (I used an organic sugar from Speerville Farms)

1 1/2 tsp honey liqueur or substitute (I used the honey liqueur from Winegarden Estates)

1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts*

-Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly grease baking sheet (I also used parchment)

-Combine flour, baking soda and salt.

-Combine melted butter with honey and sugar, and whisk until smooth and butter is incorporated.

-Beat egg into honey/butter mixture and then add honey liqueur.  To this, add flour mixture and once blended, add chopped walnuts.

-Drop spoonfuls of batter a couple of inches apart on prepared baking sheet, and bake for approximately 11 minutes or until lightly browned. Transfer to wire racks to cool.

The resulting cookies:

Image

I got 16 from this recipe, and they were the slightly sweet, nutty cookie I was looking for.  They were perfect for what I need them for, or would go equally well on their own with a cup of coffee.  I think they would be extra good with a honey cinnamon glaze or icing.

*Because I want to give a little shout out to a favorite shop, I want to note that I purchased the organic walnuts I used from The Cackling Goose in Sackville.  It’s a lovely little spot, check it out some time !

Leave a Reply

