RSS Feed

Christmas Cookie Roundup

Christmas cookies

From left to right:

Eggnog Spritz Cookies with Rum Glaze

German Butter Cookies (with Royal Icing via)

Santa’s Whiskers Cookies

Orange Sugar Cookies sandwiched with Ginger Chocolate Ganache

Rum Balls (aka Bourbon Balls)

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

Phew !  It’s been a busy few days of cookie baking and candy making around here.  I also made a batch of chocolate thumbprint cookies but forgot to include them, oops.  The German Butter Cookies were also shaped into trees, holly leaves, stars and larger snowflakes.  I will also note that when icing cookies such as these, I dip, rather than use the flood technique to apply the icing.  I just find it easier, and once dry, I can decorate the base with whatever I choose.

None of these recipes are my own but some were lightly adapted. I added a little rum extract to the Santa’s Whiskers for example in addition to using christmas cake mix instead of straight green and red cherries, and decided to sandwich the orange sugar cookies with a ganache made as follows:

  • 1 1/2 cups whipping cream
  • 20 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1/4 cup ginger liqueur (I had made my own a little while ago from this recipe, using brandy from Winegarden Estates)

All there is to this is to warm your cream in a saucepan, remove from heat, mix in chocolate and whisk until fully melted, then stir in liqueur.  I put it in the fridge to let it set up but it should be at room temp to use.  I didn’t use all the ganache but it will depend on how much you want in your cookies.  I like to play on the safe side when it comes to quantities.

I also want to note that I used a couple of local products in some of the cookies.  The maple syrup in my macaroons came from Briggs Maples,  and the white wine in the butter cookies from Jost. Instead of turbinado sugar in the macaroons, I used golden cane sugar from Speerville.  And last but not least, the jam used in my chocolate thumbprint cookies came from my very last CSA pickup from Wysmykal Farm for the year.

Happy Holidays everyone!  Do you have all your baking done?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

